What It Truly Takes To Be A Writer

Ever since I have published my first book, people has been asking me for advice regarding how they can really drive themselves to write. I can understand the feeling as I felt it too. For a complete beginner, writing is hard as when you actually sit to write, you are constantly in a sequence of doubting yourself.

Thoughts like- “Will I be able to finish my book…” or “Will people like my book and will it truly sell…” continuously whirl inside a new writer’s mind.

Just remember one thing: “All professional writers were beginners once.” Despite all their past failures they chose to continue, they never gave us because their passion never ran dry. That is why they are now known to be “professional writers”, they were professional enough to handle all the hardships associated with writing.

My advice is simple, which is that to never doubt yourself and continue writing, no matter how bad the writing gets keep writing and certainly one day your mind is going to click; later on there’s going to be nothing blocking your way and before you know it, voila… you have finally become a writer. It all comes with a flow, the catch is you should have the willingness to extract the flow inside you. No other person can possibly make you extract it within yourself, it is all up to you in the end.

P.S. There is in fact no secret to writing. A Famous Quote mentions:

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”– Ernest Hemingway

Another writer claimed:

A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.’ – Richard Bach

It’s all about your willingness to sit, write and choose to continue…

Originally published on LinkedIn

Leave a comment